The Violin Maker's Daughter - Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Fiction

Author(s): Sharon Maas

General

When the Nazis march onto the cobbled streets of Colmar on November 1st 1940, Josef, a Jewish violin maker, gathers his wife and daughters closely to him and tells them everything will be all right.

But one year later, three sharp knocks on the door at midnight turn his seventeen year old daughter Sarah's world upside down. As the oldest child, Sarah must be the first to leave her family, to make her escape in a perilous journey across France via Paris to Poitiers. And she must hide who she is and take a new name for her own safety. For now, bilingual Sarah is no longer a French Jew but a German girl.

As she bids farewell to her beloved father and family, Sarah has hope, against all odds, that she will see them again when the war is over. But, travelling through the mountains she finds herself in terrible danger and meets Ralf, a German deserter, who risks his own life to save her.

Ralf and Sarah continue their journey together, keeping their identities secret at all cost. But when Ralf is captured, will Sarah pay the ultimate price for sharing who she really is?

A gripping and heart-breaking account of love, bravery and sacrifice during the terror of war. A story of standing up for what you believe in; even if it's going to break your heart. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Ragged Edge of Night.

Readers have fallen in love with The Violin Maker's Daughter :

'From the minute I opened this book I was completely enthralled. I couldn't put it down. It was well thought out and expertly written... Really a great read and I can't wait to look into other books by this author ' Being Perry, 5 stars

'Sharon Maas never disappoints She is one of my favourite authors and with this wonderful, harrowing, heart breaking tale of courage and love in the face of unimaginable danger, she has cemented her place as one of the best historical fiction writes of today, right up there with Antony Doerr and Kristin Hannah. I SO loved this beautiful story... so stunningly realised.. it made the war come alive, the suffering and angst of ordinary people, both Jews and Germans, their bravery in the face of adversity so vividly brought to life thanks to the author's magical writing. I would very highly recommend this book and give it ten stars if I could. If you're going to read one war book this year make it this one ' Renita D'Silva, 5 stars

'A gripping, heartbreaking, but yet heartwarming historical fiction (that is based on real facts concerning Colmar, Alsace and Lorraine as well as French and German Resistance)... It is raw and emotional, yet a necessary story to tell. Sarah is only 17-18 and is so strong for her age. I enjoyed all the characters of individuals that helped her and Ralf along the way... it still had plenty of positivity and hope, that I felt it ended appropriately and honestly. A great read. 5/5 stars' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'I loved it Once I started reading, I could not stop... I was on the edge of my seat... This is the first book I have read by this writer, I am eager for more ' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

$22.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781786819796
  • : Bookouture
  • : Bookouture
  • : July 2019
  • : .85 Inches X 5.06 Inches X 7.81 Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Sharon Maas
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 380